1. Home
  2. Authorised Centers


During Independence, Assam had 13 districts. The districts were Cachar, Darrang, Goalpara, Kamrup, Lakhimpur, Nagaon, Sivsagar, Jayantia parganas, Garo hills, Lushai hills, Naga hills, Sylhet and NEFA. T Koch Bihar and Manipur (included during Independence). After many inclusion and exclusion during independence and later till 1972, Assam formed the present shape with its prime 7 districts. The other 6 districts curved out of Assam, Khasi were combined and became Meghalya State; Lushiai hills became Mizoram; Naga hills became Nagaland; NEFA became Arunachal Pradesh; the both princely states included in Assam and later separated as state and Koch Bihar became part of West Bengal.

On 17 November 1951, Golaghat, Nagaon, Cachar, Jayantia and Naga hills districts.
On 2 February 1970, Mikir Hills district curved out of North Cachar Hills.
I district changed to
In 1983, Barpeta district curved out of Kamrup; Sonitpur district curved out of Darrang; J Dhubri district and Kokrajhar district curved out of Goalpara; Karimganj district curved out of Cachar.
On 14 August 1985, Nalbari district curved out of Kamrup.
On 15 Sibsagar.
In 1989, Hailakandi district curved out of Cachar, Marigaon district curved out Nagaon, Bongaigaon district curved out of Goalpara and Kokrajhar, Tinsukia district curved out of Dibrugarh and Dhemaji district curved out of Lakhimpur.
On district curved out of Kamrup.
On 1 June 2004, Baksa district curved out of Barpeta, Nalbari, and Kamrup; on 4 June Chirang district curved out of Barpeta, Bongaigaon; and Kokrajhar and On 14 June out of Darrang and Sonitpur; along with
formed Assam sanskrit board assamsanskritboard.org
On 1 April 2010, Name of North Cachar Hills district changed to Dima Hasao.
On 15 August 2015, announced the formation of five new districts in the state,[1] taking the total number from 27 to 32. The five new districts are the following:of Dhubri); West Karbi Anglong .
On 26 January 2016, 2 more districts were announced, but on 7 October 2016, the Govt. has withdrawn district status of East Kamrup and South Kamrup due to inadequate infrastructure. Kamrup district - viz. Chandrapur and Sonapur, is now part of Kamrup Metropolitan district. On 27 June 2016, one more district was announced by Sarbananda Sonowal, taking the total number from 32 to 33 which is Majuli (carved out of the Northern parts of Jorhat). It is the first river island district of India.